MSN Rally Championship | Darren Spann to take over Asphalt Championship from 2022
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1617,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,tribe-no-js,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-17.1,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive

Darren Spann to take over Asphalt Championship from 2022

The BTRDA has appointed MSN Circuit Rally Championship Manager, Darren Spann as Championship Manager from 2022, following the retirement of Jane Evans at the end of the 2021 season.

The BTRDA gives Jane a huge thank you for her amazing work over the past four years as she rebuilt the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship to its current status as the premier asphalt championship in the UK.

Darren Spann’s appointment brings a wealth of experience from the world of rallying. Having run the hugely successful Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship since its inception 7 years ago, he has also been Clerk of the Course for the Neil Howard Stages Rally since 20212, turning the event from a single venue stage rally into one of the biggest events on the Oulton Park calendar. He was pivotal in bringing the WRC GB Stage to Oulton Park in 2019 and recently successfully hosted the opening round of the 2021 British Rally Championship in May 2021.

Darren commented ” I am delighted to be given the opportunity to run the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship and with the help of the BTRDA and my team, we fully intend to bring the Championship to the spectators, building on the work we have already carried out with the Motorsport News Circuit Championship. Amongst our aims is to establish a clear structure between the two Championships making it far easier for teams to gather sponsorship and create opportunities to allow us to find and develop the next Richard Burns.

Jane Evans commented. ” It has been an honour to be able to work with the competitors who, I have always held in high regard and have had a huge amount of respect for. Over the past 3 years, the Championship has developed into something that competitors wish to belong to and we have built relationships and friendships, from competitors to events to service crews, who are always ready with the kettle and a warm welcome. I have had an amazing team, who have shared my vision and have embraced my ideas. None of this would have developed without the support of Protyre and Shaun Chetwyn, who has guided me through good and bad times and to Mike Broad and Mike Sones, long standing members of BTRDA. I wish all competitors good luck for 2022.

Mike Broad, President of the BTRDA, commented ” I would like to say a very big thank you to Jane for all her hard work over the past few years, she has been a delight to work with and we wish her every success with her new job. I am delighted that we have appointed Darren and I am certain that he ,with his team will develop the Asphalt Championship even further.

Darren and his team, whilst continuing to develop and run the Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship, will also be responsible for developing the Asphalt Championship with a view to increasing its profile, reputation and value as well as helping to develop national British rallying. With title sponsorship from Protyre, an exciting calendar of events lined up and a hugely successful promotional team being assembled including fellow Championship Manager Andy Long and Media and Communications Manager Christopher Beamish, there is plenty to be excited for. More details will follow.

 For more information please visit

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.