MSN Rally Championship | Cadwell Park Finale! Title Race down to the Wire
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1714,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,tribe-no-js,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-17.1,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive

Cadwell Park Finale! Title Race down to the Wire

It all comes down to this. The final round of the 2021-22 Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship is upon us, and it’s all to play for in the title chase at Cadwell Park.

The TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Cadwell Park Stages Rally is a fitting setting to conclude what has been a tense battle for the crown all season, with two drivers realistically fighting it out for honours at the ‘mini Nurburgring’ and a variety of class favourites also still in with a shout at grabbing the overall title if they slip up.

Heading the way has been Neil Roskell for much of the season. The Ford Fiesta R5 driver has been on the podium in all but one round, that being the most recent at Donington Park when a mechanical problem put him out of the event. He does enter as the leader based on dropped scores, and would need another podium to seal the deal after a superb year.

He also claimed his one and only win of the campaign at this very circuit here back in November, beating away the attentions of Barry Morris, who is the man right on his tail looking to snatch the crown from him in the Darrian GTR. Morris has had to fight against adversity himself this season, after gremlins at Brands Hatch were followed by an unfortunate moment at Snetterton that cost him vital points.

It will be a fight to the flag you can be assured, but others are still in the mix should they both encounter troubles.

Among those include a smattering of Ford Escort Mk2 crews, the most prominent being Martin Hodgson who has upped his game considerably in class D this year with several wins that have even given him the chance to beat Morris in the individual class title fight. Josh Payton and Phil House have battled it out in class C all season meanwhile, and could also still grab more spoils than they bargained for if all unravels ahead of them.

Another in the title fight is Alex Cannon. The class B star has dominated despite the best efforts of Ben Wilkinson this season, and sits on the tail of Hodgson looking to add another maximum to keep the pressure on in his trusty Ford Fiesta.

James Hardy meanwhile will have his sights set firmly on sealing the class A title after holding the edge in an intra-Nissan Micra squabble with Kay Thompson this year. Hardy will enter with confidence, and therefore as the favourite to take that class honour if all goes swimmingly at Lincoln. 

For the overall rally honours there could still be some spoilers looking to trip up the top two. Ollie O’Donovan has been on strong form and is aiming for his best result of the season with Ashleigh Morris in their Hyundia R5, while Ford drivers Andy Scott, Paul Murro and Darrell Taylor will want to end their seasons on a high note after showing flashes of pace during the campaign.

The series also welcomes back another familiar face in Mike English, who brings his new Fiesta R2 out to play in the forests as he continues to gain experience since a switch from Escort machinery.

The season finale gets underway on Sunday 3 April at Cadwell Park, and you can find out more information on the event and get your tickets right here.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.